• Real Life & Real Estate
  • Posts
  • 𝐖𝐢𝐭𝐡𝐨𝐮𝐭 𝐭𝐡𝐢𝐬, 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐫𝐞𝐬𝐭 𝐫𝐞𝐚𝐥𝐥𝐲 𝐝𝐨𝐞𝐬 𝐧𝐨𝐭 𝐦𝐚𝐭𝐭𝐞𝐫.

𝐖𝐢𝐭𝐡𝐨𝐮𝐭 𝐭𝐡𝐢𝐬, 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐫𝐞𝐬𝐭 𝐫𝐞𝐚𝐥𝐥𝐲 𝐝𝐨𝐞𝐬 𝐧𝐨𝐭 𝐦𝐚𝐭𝐭𝐞𝐫.

𝐖𝐢𝐭𝐡𝐨𝐮𝐭 𝐭𝐡𝐢𝐬, 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐫𝐞𝐬𝐭 𝐫𝐞𝐚𝐥𝐥𝐲 𝐝𝐨𝐞𝐬 𝐧𝐨𝐭 𝐦𝐚𝐭𝐭𝐞𝐫.

The fastest way to tell a person's true character is how they treat those below their particular station in life station. After all, what can be more important than how people treat other people? Namely, those who make our lives easier every day.

It is irrelevant how successful or how smart you are if you go through life with the sense that you are better than or seek to create a separation from humanity as defined morally: Moral and Ethical Definition: Refers to the qualities that make us human, such as the ability to love, have compassion, be self-aware, and show kindness. It's the quality of being humane and showing benevolence or compassion for others.

One evening not too long ago pulled into the Indiana University Memorial Union to check into the hotel. I was on a visit to see one of my Children. It was late, and as I approached the counter, a young woman appeared from behind a door with a book in hand. She was very polite despite some fatigue I could only assume from working the overnight shift and having to attend classes. Usually, I would ask her a few questions (where are you from, what are you studying). I opted to move quickly through the check-in.

I get up to my room, and in a few minutes, I get a text from her checking in and asking me to reach out if I need anything. My response is below.

I then sent a screenshot to my children titled (see everyone everywhere). A lesson on always appreciating people in some level of service to others. I think that my Children had learned more from me through my interaction with people than ever lecturing or just talking the talk. The message, I hope, did not need to be sent.

I managed to wrangle 2 of the five children for dinner one night, with the events of lunch the week before still swimming around in my head. I was at an athletic club in Chicago as a guest for lunch and arrived early, waiting for a friend. A young couple with their young daughter was having lunch at the table next to me. The young girl's lunch arrived, and the waiter put the pizza in front of her. Not only did she not say thank you, but she began to complain about how the pizza was made. I could see that this made the waiter a bit uncomfortable. The young parents pleaded with her to eat the pizza. Here are some words my mother never uttered. "Will you please eat that pizza?'

The young girl refused. The parents began negotiations. If you eat the pizza, you will get ice cream. Still no… They doubled down. If you eat the pizza, you can have the ice cream and watch this movie on your iPad.   The girl still held out. She was one no away from a Disney vacation and two away from a range rover. 

I had dinner with 2 of 5, and the conversation was good, and laughs were had. Maybe I was paying more attention, but every time someone approached the table with something, there was a clear attempt to look at them and say thank you. Even the busboy who cleared something off the table every time was greeted with a thank you.

Of all the moments and accomplishments of these two, whether graduating from an excellent high school or college or starting a business, I would trade all of that for the simple humanity they possess. Absent of this, nothing matters. No amount of money or success would mean anything without this.

Father of 5 (all finished college and no one home) my greatest achievement. Property manager of my own rentals (must like the punishment).