Make the call today to that person who pulled you forward

Make the call today to that person who pulled you forward

Donna lived in the apartment behind us in a massive 3 flat at 419 Wellington. The entire floor was one unit but had been divided into two still large two-bedroom apartments. My mother has often said that the quickest way to lose a key to the apartment was to give it to one of us kids.  We typically had to buzz Donna's apartment to at least enter the hallway. After enough time of this happening and hearing us in the hallway, she would inevitably invite us into her apartment.   Donna and her husband did not have any children, and while Donna found us a bit entertaining, the husband was typically in his study reading and did not present himself too often. Every invitation was with an offer for food.  This never seemed to be a burden but was done with a sense of goodwill.  

Entering Donna's apartment was like going through a portal to another world. It was quiet and orderly, and all I could imagine as a 5th grader at Nettlehorst school was that this is what it might look like in a Royal family household. The furniture, the soft music playing, and that you better be sitting up and on your best behavior.  It seemed to me that I would look for reasons to be locked out and maybe get an invitation in. There were many meals and time spent in her kitchen until someone would come home and then thank her and make my way down the hall. She typically had all three of us over, but it seemed to be me who found myself there the most.

Countless times I have thought of her and her kindness and vowed to try to find her. On occasion, as I moved back to Chicago, I would go out of my way to drive by that grand three-flat that is now a condo building. One unit now would have been the cost of the whole building in the 70s. Like most of us tomorrow is the day we will finally do that thing that requires time and vulnerability to accomplish. To reach back and thank the person that showed you a great deal of kindness…..

Five months ago, I was sitting with clients getting ready to list their homes. I asked where they were from in the city, and they said they lived on Oakdale near Sheridan Road. I said I lived at 419 Wellington.  The wife said, ”Isn’t that where Donna lived”?   I said you mean Donna, and I said her last name. She said yes. Donna and her husband were good friends of theirs.  My heart sank, and without wanting to go into the details, I said do you have her number?  She said, let me look. She returned and said it had been 6 years since they spoke and lost her number.  I tried to do the math quickly. She if alive would be over 84 years old.  Panic set in, and I wrapped up as fast as I could. I went to my car and googled her name. Her name, whether her or not, popped up in wheeling with a landline. I called from the driveway and left a message…. If this is the Donna who lived at 419 Wellington, please call me …

Five days later, my cell phone rang while I was in Michigan. Her name flashed across my phone. I showed it to my wife. It took me 6 rings to answer.  I responded, “Donna”. She said “Michael,” I said yes.  She said I have been waiting for your call and I knew that someday I would talk to you and see you again someday”.  I was almost without words.  In short, a friendship has started, and I got my opportunity to say thank you purely out of dumb luck. She had confessed at our meeting that when shopping, she had to account for the boys who might stop by.

It’s the call that I should have made 52 years ago and always said I will do it tomorrow. I will not waste this lesson and neither should you …

Father of 5 (all finished college and no one home) my greatest achievement. Property manager of my own rentals (must like the punishment).

Make the call today to that person who pulled you forward